Pacific West, USA

In 2013 I took a road trip from San Francisco to Portland along Route 101 with a couple of friends. It was timed to tie in with San Francisco beer week with the plan of stopping at a few breweries (Russian River and Bear Republic in particular) and scenic spots en route.

In all the trip included Santa Rosa, Eureka, Bandon, Portland and some scenic stops amongst the Redwoods and along the beaches.

These photos were taken with a much older camera, hence the quality.

Pacific Coast – California

Many of these photos were taken when we first hit the coast shortly after leaving Santa Rosa, with a later stop at Point Arena Lighthouse. There’s an obvious temptation to stop for photos every few miles.

Pacific Coast – Oregon

Despite a decent amount of searching, I can’t find the exact spot we stopped at for these photos. It’s south of Bandon and my best guess is somewhere just north of Brookings.

Eureka, California

An overnight stop at Eureka looked to be heading for a fairly early night after dinner and beers at Lost Coast Brewery but this unexpectedly turned into a great night out at the Siren Song Tavern.

Bandon, Oregon

There doesn’t look to be much to Bandon. It’s a tiny place and was intended as a quick stopover instead of Coos Bay. The Arcade Tavern was perfect for a few drinks.

Portland, Oregon

Portland seems to be known for three things, two of those being beer and food. The food from the street carts was excellent and it’s up there with the best cities for beer you’ll find (Bailey’s Taproom, APEX, Tugboat as a starter).

While it’s an excellent city to spend time in, it isn’t the most photogenic. Scrolling through a few photos from a wander around the city made me realise how few are worth adding here. However, a short trip out of Portland can take you to Latourell Falls or Multnomah Falls (below).

 

Author: eight02701

Hello! I'm Andy. I travel quite a lot and often work away from home. When I'm away I like to wander and take photos. All of the photos on here were taken by me. This isn't intended to be a travel blog with lots of funny stories, detailed information and recommendations. This blog is bringing my travels and trips from the past few years alongside photos I took on the way. Drop me a note or leave a message if you follow me and I'll happily follow back.

Leave a Reply

