Fredrikstad, Norway

Visiting the fortified town 50 miles south of Oslo.

The Norwegian town of Fredrikstad dates back to the 1560s, when it was founded on the banks of the river Glomma. It’s just over 56 miles south of Oslo and is a quiet place with one of Europe’s best-preserved fortified towns.

The fortifications were put in place during the war between Sweden and Denmark/Norway and, when viewed from the air, form a neat “half star” around the town, providing a barrier on one side, with the river for protection on the other. The old town is easily accessible from the modern town centre via the regular,  free ferry service. If you have any interest in history then this will feel like a trip back through the ages.

Fredrikstad

 

 

Author: eight02701

Hello! I'm Andy. I travel quite a lot and often work away from home. When I'm away I like to wander and take photos. All of the photos on here were taken by me. This isn't intended to be a travel blog with lots of funny stories, detailed information and recommendations. This blog is bringing my travels and trips from the past few years alongside photos I took on the way. Drop me a note or leave a message if you follow me and I'll happily follow back.

1 thought on “Fredrikstad, Norway”

Leave a Reply

