O’ahu, USA

Revisiting a tough routine in Waikiki.

After travelling from Glasgow to Tokyo over several weeks without flying, I had a choice of where to continue my onward journey from Japan. Getting a flight for a ridiculous £40 from Tokyo to Honolulu made the prospect of visiting Hawaii one impossible to turn down.

I visited Honolulu in 2015, my first trip as what could very loosely be described as a beach holiday. Or certainly my first since I was a kid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my last trip here I got stuck in a daily routine. It involved getting up and going for a swim as the sun came up, going for a long wander along the coast in the morning, beer and seafood for lunch, a relaxed afternoon then out at night. Tough going. One of the reasons for stopping in Hawaii after Japan was to do something I tend not to do: go back to the same places. After living out of a backpack for weeks, after multiple long train journeys and ferries, I wanted to stop for a few days. To plant myself at a Waikiki-beach-side bar and drink a beer in the sun, to get chilli shrimp from the food truck I had been to before, to watch the sunset from a quiet spot in the evenings, to go to a bar I like in the evenings and eat too many buffalo wings.

So I did just that.

Aside from revisiting the routine, this time I saw a lot more of the island. O’ahu isn’t that big; easy to drive or cycle around and, like other Hawaiian islands, it has so much to explore, from hikes to quieter beaches to surf to wildlife.

I took a loop heading east from Waikiki. It included Halona Beach Cove, Kailua, numerous beaches around to the north coast, Kaneohe Bay, Waimea Falls, Koolau Mountains and Manoa Falls. I also had a short stop at the Nuuanu Pali lookout, and a comment online suggested Mark Twain thought this spot had the most beautiful view in the world. With mountains overlooking lush greenery and a stunning tropical landscape, it’s easy to see why he was seemingly so taken by it.

The short stop at the Pali lookout was due to a quirk of the Hawaiian weather: the micro climates. The Big Island seems to have the most diversity but even on O’ahu, a comparatively small island, the surroundings can go from scorching sunshine on the beach, to volcanic, to rain forest, all within a short distance. And at Pali the more tropical rain forest climate lived up to its name.

Getting away from Waikiki, Hawaii feels even more relaxed. The islands are a huge draw for tourists from the USA, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand and Waikiki is the local tourist hot spot. If you’re there to avoid people and have a more tranquil time of it, choose another island or, if on O’ahu, avoid the Honolulu area. You won’t need to stray far from here to find a spot that feels wonderfully secluded.

In all, five days on O’ahu: no trains or buses to catch, no ferry trips to arrange, no work, no responsibilities or expectations from anyone. Just a routine that involved swimming, eating seafood, having a beer, sitting in the sun, seeing the island at my own pace and watching the sun go down in the evenings. Perhaps the most switched off few days I’ve had. Ever.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

<<< From Glasgow to Tokyo… without flying

Maui, USA >>>

Author: eight02701

Hello! I'm Andy. I travel quite a lot and often work away from home. When I'm away I like to wander and take photos. All of the photos on here were taken by me. This isn't intended to be a travel blog with lots of funny stories, detailed information and recommendations. This blog is bringing my travels and trips from the past few years alongside photos I took on the way. Drop me a note or leave a message if you follow me and I'll happily follow back.

3 thoughts on “O’ahu, USA”

Leave a Reply

