Night and low-light photography

My favourite night shots from recent trips.

If I had to pick a favourite ‘type’ of photography, it would be taking low-light and night photos. The world changes so much after the sun goes down and it can make for some fantastic, atmospheric shots.

I’m using what is now, in techie terms, an outdated camera and it has an older micro 4/3rds sensor which is extremely limited in low light compared to newer and full-frame sensors. But working within those limitations and pushing the camera quite far has helped me to get some shots that I’m really quite happy with. Some of my favourites are below.

The Shambles – York, UK

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Royal Exchange Square – Glasgow, UK

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Bridge of 15 Bridges – Amsterdam, Netherlands.

After a wander around Amsterdam, I was heading back to the hotel via this area at the same time a canal boat was passing by. I sat down and ended up staying in this spot for an hour, chatting with some people and taking some long exposures. The canal boats were passing every fifteen minutes or so giving four chances to capture a shot, each one being 40-60 seconds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Brandenburg Gate – Berlin, Germany

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stockholm, Sweden

An early attempt at capturing light trails with a long exposure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Busan, South Korea

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quedlinburg, Germany

This was very low light and shot handheld. The beautiful old town of Quedlinburg is like taking a trip back in time and at night looks even more stunning and atmospheric.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Westminster Bridge – London, UK

A cliche shot but a nice chance to capture light trails in front of the parliament building.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Busan, South Korea

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Royal Exchange Square – Glasgow, UK

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Red Square – Moscow, Russia

This was taken in very low light (St Basil’s Cathedral wasn’t lit up as much as I expected it to be) and shot handheld.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Austin – Texas, USA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Author: eight02701

Hello! I'm Andy. I travel quite a lot and often work away from home. When I'm away I like to wander and take photos. All of the photos on here were taken by me. This isn't intended to be a travel blog with lots of funny stories, detailed information and recommendations. This blog is bringing my travels and trips from the past few years alongside photos I took on the way. Drop me a note or leave a message if you follow me and I'll happily follow back.

Leave a Reply

