Sunsets

Because who doesn’t love a sunset?

When I was going through some of my favourite photos for this, I realised that I only have a handful of sunrise photos. While I am up early most days, usually for work, I’m rarely up early and off out to catch a sunrise. Sunsets on the other hand…

Here are some of my favourites.

Ålesund, Norway

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waikiki Beach – Oahu, USA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kiruna, Sweden

With Kiruna sitting just above the Arctic Circle, the Polar Night can mean hours of sunset sky.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stockholm, Sweden

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Åndalsnes, Norway

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Irkutsk, Russia

I spent an hour or so by the river waiting for the sun to set on what turned out to be a cloudy evening. Eventually I left, thinking there wouldn’t be much to see that evening, and headed back towards the centre of town. About ten minutes later, the city turned pink under an incredible sunset sky. Lesson learned: stick around for a while longer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glasgow, UK

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waikiki Beach – Oahu, USA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pärnu, Estonia

This is my favourite, not because of the photo but because of the moment it reminds me of. This was the start of a trip around Northern Europe and on the fourth night in, feeling entirely switched off and relaxed, I ended up in Pärnu, Estonia. Pärnu is a popular summer spot for Estonian people due to the beach, but arriving in late September meant I was there in the ‘off season’. This evening I wandered down to a quiet beach, and sat down with this view and a sunset sky that ended up lasting for a couple of hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Author: eight02701

Hello! I'm Andy. I travel quite a lot and often work away from home. When I'm away I like to wander and take photos. All of the photos on here were taken by me. This isn't intended to be a travel blog with lots of funny stories, detailed information and recommendations. This blog is bringing my travels and trips from the past few years alongside photos I took on the way. Drop me a note or leave a message if you follow me and I'll happily follow back.

Leave a Reply

